My short time in the UK is at an end. I’m excited to be going home. Yes, I am homesick for my little slice of California, for my family’s warm embrace, and for the companionship of my friends.

But things are different.

My view from my my Hampstead-based terrace. So long, London! (for now)

My view from my my Hampstead-based terrace. So long, London! (for now)

I am now sporting a well-earned PhD. I will not make light of it. Working on a doctorate in History took three years of straight research and writing. The full impact of the success at my viva has yet to really find a place, what I mean to say, I haven’t found a comfort zone, the recognition that ‘I did it!’ still has yet to hit me.

But I do know this: there are a tremendous number of people here in the UK that I owe a great deal of gratitude. For example, my stay here in London was truly remarkable. My host spoiled me, literally. Thank you, Thane and Robert, for a comfortable bed, a great view of London, and a walk about Hampstead and its history. Thanks for the encouragement and for introducing me to people that may yet assist me in converting this dissertation into a great piece of lasting academic work.

I’ll be back…

