Actually productive yesterday, re-reading a fantastic introduction from my external examiner’s book, Crowds, Culture, and Politics in Georgian Britain. Here, Nicholas Rogers details the historiography on crowd studies – which significantly shows up in my dissertation’s third chapter.  I really ought to have paid more attention to it than I did. Crowds culture and politics in georgian britainHowever, in reading this history on crowd studies, I came to realize that my final product meshed up strikingly well with what Rogers delineated: of that I am most pleased. I took seven of my patented reading notes, shared them with Richard Sheldon, and said adieu to my time in the library.

From there, I moved slowly down the hill toward the floating bay, snapping pics as I went along. Here they are and with small commentary. Enjoy.

BTW, all pics can be clicked for a larger view.

Some of buildings in and about Bristol are quite old, dating back before there was a United States. I snapped this photo because of the concrete relief above the window. The nest pic is a close up.

Some of the buildings in and about Bristol are quite old, dating back before there was a United States. I snapped this photo because of the concrete relief above the window. The next pic is a close up of that design.

Of course, the right is of the fleur de lis, but to the left I am nearly convinced that is the white rose of the House of York. Combine the two, and you have a pretty good symbolic statement of jacobite sympathies. Here! In Bristol!

Of course, the right is of the fleur de lis, but to the left I am nearly convinced that is the white rose of the House of York. Combine the two, and you have a pretty good symbolic statement of jacobite sympathies. Here! In Bristol!

On the corner of Charlotte and Park, the red trim and the "new skinny" caught my eye. Irony, perhaps? "Coca-cola" and "skinny" in the same purview?

On the corner of Charlotte and Park, the red trim and the “new skinny” caught my eye. Irony, perhaps? “Coca-cola” and “skinny” in the same purview?

A look down Park Street.

A look down Park Street.

A new bookstore on Park. Love the colors.

A new bookstore on Park. Love the colors.

Some outdoor dining on a beautiful afternoon, near Waterfront Square and the Bristol Aquarium.

Some outdoor dining on a beautiful afternoon, near Waterfront Square and the Bristol Aquarium.

Weary traveler takes a snooze by the dung beetle statue in front of the Bristol Aquarium.

Weary traveler takes a snooze by the dung beetle statue in front of the Bristol Aquarium.

Busker trying to make a living (he was pretty good).

Busker trying to make a living (he was pretty good).

Many a tourist believe this to be a statue of a pirate. Alas, it is of John Cabot who left from Bristol and landed at Cape Bonavista, Newfoundland, on June 24, 1497. Cabot's real name, by the way, was Giovanni Caboto - and like Columbus, was an Italian hired by a foreign government (in this case, Henry VII of England) to explore possible western trading routes.

Many a tourist believe this to be a statue of a pirate. Alas, it is of John Cabot who left from Bristol and landed at Cape Bonavista, Newfoundland, on June 24, 1497. Cabot’s real name, by the way, was Giovanni Caboto – and like Columbus, was an Italian hired by a foreign government (in this case, Henry VII of England) to explore possible western trading routes.

British road signs are sometime difficult to find as you drive. I'm staying on Alpha Road during my time in Bristol. I don't know, this sign seems somehow... picturesque.

British road signs are sometimes difficult to find as you drive. I’m staying on Alpha Road during my time in Bristol. I don’t know, this sign seems somehow… picturesque.

Bristol is known for many things these days: murals are one of them. Here, the Southbank Community Center  advertises "Music, Dance, and Events" to those who pass by.

Bristol is known for many things these days: murals are one of them. Here, the Southbank Community Center advertises “Music, Dance, and Events” to those who pass by.

A close up.

A close up.

 

