I am always amazed at how beautiful and friendly Bristol is. Although I was beyond tired after the flight from San Francisco, I found Bristol as welcoming to the eyes and heart as always. Even walking the streets late yesterday afternoon, I came across people I have not seen in two years. Lots of quick conversations and joy at seeing one another yet again.

The view from my widow at 6:00AM this morning.

The view from my widow at 6:00AM this morning.

I’m staying with Norman and Barbara. Norman is a terrific photographer, well-accomplished and respected in his field. He’s also somewhat of a major film buff. Barbara writes, mostly for museums, she’s brilliant when it comes to the history of art. I guess you could say they are both in the same field: visual interpretations. They have a lovely place along Alpha Road in the Southville suburb, south of the Avon and the cut. Unfortunately for me, they leave Sunday for New York (Barbara is a native New Yorker). On the good side, I get to watch their place, water their plants, and enjoy their garden which is stunning (south east facing, too!)

Looking south and west at Bristol's Floating Harbor. To the left is the M Shed. The building to the right is the old Lloyd's Bank complex.

Looking south and west at Bristol’s Floating Harbor. To the left is the M Shed. The building to the right is the old Lloyd’s Bank complex. Click for a larger view! 

After a quick breakfast of Meuslix and a shave, I crossed the Avon to the floating harbor. I trundled up Park Street (steep incline) and landed at the university. I’ve been catching up on emails and such. I’m nearly acclimatized to the time zone shift already and will likely walk about a little more before my noon-thirty meeting with my supervisor.

And why not? Bristol is as lovely as ever. If the shire had a city, it would undoubtedly be Bristol.

