179: the number of e-mails I have to scrum through after four days of constant conferencing. I suppose that is one sense of how to measure whether or not a conference was successful – unopened e-mails means you were too busy to conduct anything resembling normalcy. Heck, I was in San Antonio and didn’t take the time to walk those short ten blocks from my hotel to the site of the Alamo. I reckon that’s another measurement too! Conference 1 – National Monument 0.

I’m home now, and totally missing the engagement, the to and fro, that myriad of ideas that flowed like oil from a broken BP deep sea rig. I immersed myself in the goo of interpretation, inferences, and meaning. Time to preen myself, reawaken to the fact that I am still on the job hunt, and flutter out toward Monday like a great heron unencumbered. More to come.

