With nary a word from Tallhassee Community College, with California community colleges cancelling announced positions despite the need, staying positive becomes increasingly difficult.

I’ll employ some “dude theory” here to help motivate me and keep me focused on the positive vibes: “Dude, that was one gnarly wave. It’s salt water and it’ll only hurt for a little bit. So, get back on the board, dude. The sun is out, the tide is ebbing, and you’re married to one awesome babe!”

"Dude, Krulder's giving a paper presentation in San Antonio. We should go." "I'll fire up the Mystery Machine, dude. You grab the munchies."

Cowabunga.

I feel better already (we all have our inner dude). Next week I will be on my way to San Antonio, Texas for a four day conference. How about this for a title:

The 2011 Joint Conference of the National Popular Culture & American Culture Association and the Southwest/Texas Popular Culture & American Culture Association.

Salute!

This conference is a mega-wave I intend to catch. It’s a forward-looking maneuver as I paddle my board toward the next inevitable surge of H20. Surfing San Antonio: I like the sound of that. If anyone can pull hanging ten over Texas, it’s yours truly.

I’m excited about the opportunity, and thankfully (once again) I have the support at home to float me out toward the breakwater of additional scholastic adventures: may I get soaked.

There’s a lot going on during this four day conference including my paper on media abuse in the eighteenth-century. Yes indeed, I get to talk about how media – in cahoots with the British government – fanned the flames of protests during one hot summer of 1756.

But, honestly, I am most overjoyed at the prospect of attending many of the roundtables, films, professional development seminars, and other scholastic presentations offered at the conference.

So over the next couple of days, maybe more, this blog will announce what I’m attending and why.

I’ll begin with roundtables. I’ll have to hoof it to catch this one since it starts just as my panel ends. But the roundtable on Education, Teaching, and Culture presents an opportunity to stay current on my teaching skills. Entitled “The Pop of Pedagogy: Improving Instruction,” four panelist and a chair will supply my waiting eyes and ears with the following:

  • “Assessing the impact of the Semantic Web on Critical Thinking”
    • Michael Weston, University of Houston-Victoria
  • “Cross-cultural encounters in the classroom: the internationalization of education in America”
    • Claudia Ladeira McCalman, Southeastern Louisiana University, Dept of Languages and Communication
  • “iClickers & Voice-Over PPT: Using Technology To Engage Millennials In Learning”
    • Bob Reese, Assoc. Professor, Health Psychology, Jefferson College of Health Sciences
  • “On Diversity in the Classroom: A Call for Transparency”
    • Courtney Dorroll, Georgia State University

I believe this to be a great roundtable – well developed and focused. Not only do I get Weston’s piece on critical thinking and Reese’s offering about engaging students, but Dorroll’s diversity and transparency push works well with McCalman’s contribution on multiculturalism.

And this is only one of five roundtables I intend to make, so if I miss it – though sad – not a tragedy.

But I’ll paddle like a mad man to make that wave. Dude.

