It’s official: our family’s home is up for sale. Sigh.

This of course has me thinking historically. In the vast vestiges of human endeavors, one historical truth links the “Post-Modern Man” to the “Ancient Greek”: that a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do. Somewhere in between this common truth, between the ancients and the post-modern, I am beginning to see the wisdom of some of the Native American nations that struggled to understand the system of über-constrained legalities regarding property rights by which Europeans appeared so exactingly self-possessed. I’m not sure who said it, but the insight embedded into the phrase “one could no more own the land than they could own the sky,” speaks to me louder than ever the older I become.

But this house has been our home for eight years now. And though we didn’t exactly “own” it (thank you American mortgage system)

Liz and Sarah hunting for Easter eggs at 1794 Honey Run Road, Chico, CA 95928

this place grew on us most immensely. 1794 Honey Run Road, located in the unincorporated township of Chico, is a most amazing place. Nestled against pyroclastic cliffs; nuzzled by a clear, wild-salmon-filled creek; home to herons, turkeys, deer, fox, and an occasional bear; bearer of peaches, nectarines, cherries, grapes, walnuts, apples, and more; a place filled with memories other than my own; well let’s just say I do not relish having to sell.

But a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do.

And I am doing it. I cannot speak for my wife, or for my daughters, or my Lady pooch now buried in the corner of the tomato patch – I can only speak for myself. I am ready for a change, ready to adopt a new lifestyle, one that approaches the everyday with a minimal of possessions. As Bruce Cockburn so insightfully sang, “Got to let go of the things that keep you tethered, take your place with grace than be on your way.”

Sure, it’s the mortality (the view of that ocean as I float down this ever widening river) that has me thinking about America, materialism, and an economy based on consumerism. The American Dream: to plunge oneself into debt, to tie oneself and family to a bank, to a mortgage, to a place on this earth with deed, titles, and über-constrained legalities: and for thirty years. Yes, it’s not too far removed from feudal ties that bound peasants to the land…but…in this case…there sure are some terrific memories tied to that place.

