Today’s blog is less theoretical and more nuts and bolts. Sorry.

Today I completed what they call a FAFSA (Free Application for Student Aid). I also met with my real estate agent. If I am to go to Bristol, the house must sell. Any wealth I possess is in this…

“three-bedroom, three-bath, two-car garage, on almost two acres, with 38 fruit trees including apple (red delicious, granny-smith, rome, and an unidentified heirloom), peach, cherry, plum, nectarine, olive, lemon, walnut, and more! There’s an RV port, a two car garage, a workshop, storage sheds, a mini-barn, well-water, plus two gardens measured at one-third of an acre! Act now, and a gray-market 17hp Kubota tractor with attachments are yours!”

In a big way, we (my wife and I) truly hate having to sell the place. Look up the address for “Little Slice of Heaven” and there it is, 1794 Honey Run Road, Chico, CA 95928.

The things I do for Clio (Muse of History). Speaking of which, I’ve heard this from a couple of professors; it was much easier back in the days of post-Sputnik. The government was throwing money around, schools were almost free, and colleges became incredibly democratized – no longer the elite institutions of pre-WWII, but open and welcoming to the everyday Joe.

I still feel lucky though. I remember during my thesis research, sitting in Empire Coffee reading a secondary source. The author let out a bit of wisdom, but only a bit. The footnote revealed his source: an 1846 book written by some Brit with the last name of Alexander. I flitted over to Google, typed in the name and the book, and voila: GoogleBooks revealed the mid-nineteenth-century book in all its digital glory. On cyber-page 72, the partial wisdom quote was attached to this other wisdom that my gut instincts told me was there. Total time: three minutes. Total costs: free.

Now let’s back this up a bit. If this occurred just twenty years prior, the reading of a secondary source and the questioning of a footnote, the time and money spent to check that source would certainly leave no doubt to how much easier it is now to perform History. Two decades ago, since the 1846 book was printed in London and probably a run of maybe 500 books, I would have called the New York City Library to see if the tome was there. If not, the book most likely would only be found then in and around London. I would have had to pony up some dough to fly British Airways, shack up near the British Library, and – well, you get the picture. Total time: three days. Total costs: $$$.

I still believe that History is getting cheaper… except that tuition thingy.

But seriously, anyone want to buy a house?

