Wow, another school in England is under the impression that I am worthy enough to grace their campus as a doctoral student. The University of Bristol extended an invitation – as long as I can pay the tuition – to study eighteenth-century British/Atlantic/European cultural history.

University of Bristol logo, or should I say, "coat of arms."

At the end of three years, with a dissertation defended, Joe will be a Doctor of History. Professor Joe. Joe Krulder, PhD. Wow. I like the looks of that.

There is a bit of a conundrum. Officially I am in at Bristol, but I am also unofficially in at Manchester. What to do? And more important, whence comes the money?

I have until February 20th to inform Bristol of my decision. I don’t know how much time I have to convince my wife (or me for that matter)!

